Skip to main content
Simmons_Aaron

Principal Investigator

  • Sean Palecek
    Email: sppalecek@wisc.edu
    Education
    - Ph.D in Chemical Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    - M.S. in Chemical Engineering, University of Illinois - Urbana Champaign
    - B.S. in Chemical Engineering, University of Delaware.

Post-doctoral Research Associates

  • Hope Holt
    Research Interests: Human pluripotent stem cells, blood brain barrier
    Email: hholt@wisc.edu
    Education
    - Ph.D. Biomedical Engineering, University of South Carolina
    - B.S. Chemical Engineering, Tennessee Technological University

Graduate Students

  • Benjamin Gastfriend
    Research Interests: Human pluripotent stem cells, blood brain barrier
    Email: gastfriend@wisc.edu
    Education
    - B.S. in Chemical Engineering, University of Maryland College Park
  • Aaron D. Simmons
    Research Interests: hPSC-derived cardiomyocyte differentiation/maturation; metabolism; mitochondria
    Email: adsimmons2@wisc.edu
    Education
    - M.S. in Chemical Engineering, University of Oklahoma - Norman, OK
    - B.S. in Chemical Engineering, University of Oklahoma - Norman, OK
  • Martha Floy
    Research Interests: Cardiac tissue engineering, human pluripotent stem cells
    Email: mefloy@wisc.edu
    Education
    - B.S. Chemical Engineering, Kansas State University
  • Koji Foreman
    Research Interests: Human pluripotent stem cells, blood-brain barrier modeling, small molecule signaling, shear mimicry
    Email: klforeman@wisc.edu
    Education
    - B.S. in Chemical Engineering, Michigan State University
  • Bill Ding
    Research Interests: Induced pluripotent stem cells, blood brain barrier
    Email: ding52@wisc.edu
    Education
    - B.S. in Chemical Engineering, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Feifan Du
    Research Interests: Human pluripotent stem cells, blood-brain barrier
    Email: fdu3@wisc.edu
    Education
    - B.Ch.E. (Bachelor of Chemical Engineering), University of Minnesota - Twin Cities
    - B.S. in Computer Science, University of Minnesota - Twin Cities
  • Sarah Boutom
    Research Interests: blood-brain barrier modeling with human pluripotent stem cells; brain vascularization/BBB development
    Email: boutom@wisc.edu
    Education
    - B.S. in Biophysics, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • Fathima Shabnam
    Research Interests: cardiomyocyte differentiation, metabolomics
    Email: shabnam@wisc.edu
    Education
    - B.S. in Chemical Engineering, minor in Bioengineering - University of Pittsburgh
  • Douglas Chang
    Research Interests: Antifungal α/β-peptides, polyelectrolyte multilayer coatings
    Email: dhchang2@wisc.edu
    Education
    - B.S. Chemical Engineering, University of California, Los Angeles

Current Undergraduates

  • Alexandra Steinberg
  • Will Friedrich
  • Nate Schlueter
  • Tessa Christopherson